Americans United for Separation of Church and State

Greater Phoenix Chapter

Old Home Home Contact Us Upcoming
Events
Past
Events
Photos
Videos
Church State Issues Report Church State Violations Join
Email List
Leave
Email List
Membership Donations Request
Speaker
Take
Action
Legal
Resources
Facebook Meetup Links Send Letter to Editor

                                                                                                                       

Church State Issues

Christian Cross on Tempe Butte violates Arizona Constitution

Mar 30, 2012

By: Mike

Location: Tempe Butte - Next to ASU Sun Devil Stadium
Tempe, Arizona

I suspect this cross erected on Tempe Butte every Easter is both a violation of the Arizona Constitution and of the First Amendment in the US Constitution.

The City of Tempe lets a private group erect the cross every Easter. The Tempe government also lets the same private group erect some religious monuments on the butte every Christmas too. During Christmas monuments of the 3 Wise Men are place on the butte.

Tempe lets the private group use the land for free and charges them a small fee for the electricity used to light the religious monuments at night.

The idea that a private group is erecting the cross is a sham put on by the Tempe government. Yes a private group does put up the religious monuments, but that private group was run by a former Tempe City Councilman. And of course the same Tempe City Councilman requested that the city of Tempe let his private group erect the religious monuments.

The Arizona Constitution says:

… No public money or property shall be appropriated for or applied to any religious worship, exercise, or instruction, or to the support of any religious establishment …
The First Amendment of the U.S. Constitution says:
Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; …

Complain about this violation of Church & State to:

Hugh Hallman, Mayor

480-350-8424
Fax:480-350-8996

email: hugh_hallman@tempe.gov


Joel Navarro, Vice Mayor

480-350-8795
Fax: 480-350-8996

joel_navarro@tempe.gov


Robin Arredondo-Savage, Councilmember

480-350-8792
Fax: 480-350-8996

robin_arredondo-savage@tempe.gov


Shana Ellis, Councilmember

480-350-8813
Fax: 480-350-8996

shana_ellis@tempe.gov


Mark Mitchell, Councilmember

480-350-8793
Fax: 480-350-8996

mark_mitchell@tempe.gov


Onnie Shekerjian, Councilmember

480-350-8819
Fax: 480-350-8996

onnie_shekerjian@tempe.gov


Corey Woods, Councilmember

480-350-8798
Fax: 480-350-8996

corey_woods@tempe.gov